Dumaguete Info Search

Any serious/standard musicians out there? :D

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Jopliniac, Apr 6, 2012.

1. Jopliniac

Jopliniac DI Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey buddies, tourists and locals from wherever-land you came from.
    Dumaguete has been called a "melting pot" because of its unique diversity of people coming from all different lands and culture. But, one thing i've noticed, there's not much SERIOUS music going around, or at least, they are not heard out.

I am a classical pianist (actually, just an amateur and still on school as an undergraduate degree), and aside from my buddies in my college, i do not anyone outside my circle who is into classical music. I mean, it tests how much diversified really Dumaguete is. But i guess when it comes to issues like this, it's kind of "uh, not really" sort of thing.

Well, maybe it's just the culture of the Philippines itself.
    I am not from Dumaguete btw, and i have been to places around the country and when you say music to any average Filipino, they would think of pop songs, and rock bands and pop songs and rock bands, and more singing, and singing, and KTV and whatever. It's very limited to just like that and it is disheartening, in a way, that most of my fellow countrymen do not know about the so-called "serious music thing". Well, i know it's NOT really an oriental culture or say Asian, or say a Pacific Islander culture, BUT we do have our music that can be called "classical" and is equivalent to the Western Aria, and it's called "Kundiman", a ballade type of song, usually speaking of patriotism and love, speaking of hopelessness at first, eminent by using the minor mode of the first part then shifts into a major mode which speaks of hope and all the good attributes you can name.

Well, anyone up for a talk about matters like these, i would be very happy discussing it with you.
    So yup, chat you around! :D

2. filmdude

filmdude Guest Guest User

Ratings:
    +0 / 0