Dumaguete Info Search

Marriage Visa Benefits of Marriage Visa: Does it Worth Getting One?

Discussion in 'Passports and Visas' started by ajayver, Feb 26, 2016.

1. ajayver

ajayver DI Member Showcase Reviewer

WordPress developer, Entrepreneur
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Blood Type:
    I don't know.
    Greetings to all forum members!

I've been staying in Philippines since 2010, extending my tourist visa and leaving the country from time to time. So far I am happy with visa laws here comparing to other countries.

It's been a year since I married a Philippine girl and I am about to go to another visa run in the middle of March to get another 36 months. I need to go to Cebu to get my exit clearance and I'm thinking to take my wife with me and try to apply for a resident visa (we have all the requirements on hands) but I'm not sure if it worths getting?

As I read in other topics it costs around 8000-9000 pesos and I will need to renew it after one year and looks like I will have to pay around 3000 extra pesos every time I leave the country on top of 1620 pesos travel tax. Looks like I will have to go to Cebu Immigration for any transaction which I would prefer to avoid. Or am I wrong?

What benefits will I get converting my visa? Isn't it easier to just stay with tourist visa?

And another question - do I need to pay those 8000+ upon initial applying or later after the approval?

Any information will be appreciated!

• Like Like x 2
  2. DavyL200

DavyL200 DI Forum Luminary ★ Global Mod ★ ★ Moderator ★ Highly Rated Poster Showcase Reviewer

Ratings:
    +5,126 / 466
    If you have decided to stay here permanently in the ph I would say yes to getting the 13 a visa. Benefits are not going to the bi every two months and paying and also wasting hours of you day falling inline! You only need to go to the bi once a year when you have it to do your annual report in the first 60 days and pay p310.