Dumaguete Info Search

Hello. Ready, Set and Go!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by GBorba, May 2, 2016.

1. GBorba

GBorba DI Junior Member

Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Blood Type:
    O+
    Hello,

Been lurking for some time but decided to come "out off the closet" and say hello.

I married my lovely Cebuana almost 30 years ago and we have lived most of that time near Augusta Georgia where I worked as an engineer at a Federal nuclear site. We have two grown children: a son who lives with his wife near Nashville, TN and a daughter who lives with her husband in Wellington, New Zealand.

After over 27 years working for the Federal government I retired with my last day on the rolls was April 30, 2016. About one week earlier, I got the 13(a) visa from the Philippine Embassy in Washington DC; they got the application from FedEx on a Monday afternoon and by that Friday it was done and at our house - wow!

Our plan is to do a "living in the Philippines" trial for about two years to verify we can adapt to the heat and humidity (living in the Southern USA should be a help), and weigh the good and bad living in the Philippines to see if this is something we want to do more permanently and, if not, return to our house in Georgia. My wife was born and raised in Cebu but after nearly 30 years living in the USA she has gotten used to the cooler weather!

Now for the ready, set and go ....

Ready: Just retired, got the 13(a) visa and our passports.

Set: Getting the house ready to rent and selling stuff we are not planning to store. Get some Balikbayan boxes readied to ship when we get a more permanent apartment or home rental.

Go! Got the tickets, a hotel to stay near the BOI, a ride to take us to Dumagute and a short-term rental in Dumaguete to find something more permanent.

Gary and Jackie Borba

• Like Like x 6
  2. Jack Peterson

Jack Peterson DI Forum Luminary Highly Rated Poster SC Connoisseur Veteran Air Force

Happily Retired
    Ratings: