Dumaguete Info Search

Howdy folks!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Larry_H, Aug 29, 2013.

1. Larry_H

Larry_H DI Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Howdy folks!

I'm Larry(American)....my wife is Joy(Filipina). We will be retiring and moving to the Phils sometime around July of next year. Haven't really made our mind up as to where we will call home exactly yet, but Dumaguete is certainly on the list of areas we will be exploring.

Other areas we are considering are Bohol, Mactan Island, Iloilo.

Currently, we live in Mianyang, Sichuan, China. I work as a college business/english teacher. Joy works as a college english teacher.

Our "plan" is for my wife to come to Dumaguete around May of next year, find us a temporary apartment/house that we can call home base for a short time while we look around. Eventually (shortly), we think we should find a more suitable home that we can call home for whatever time(to start with, a target time of 6 months) we are there. If we decide to call Dumaguete "home" (permanently), then we obviously would want a permanent home; whether it would be bought or rented is still up for debate.

Joy is of course, more concerned with shopping and conveniences. I am more concerned with good roads (motorcycles), easy life, and fewer hassles. (Fewer hassles than what?, they ask! I dunno..just fewer!)

We haven't ever been to Dumaguete, only heard many nice things about it....so here's YOUR chance!

Vent, rage, praise, brag....whatever you have to say, we'll listen.

Looking forward to your pearls of wisdom, stories of dumb luck, or even ah crap! why'd I do that?

Larry & Joy

2. Knowdafish

Knowdafish DI Forum Luminary

Ratings:
    +15 / 2
    Welcome to the forum.

The only way for you to accurately gauge if you want to live here, or anywhere, is to check it out personally. One person may like somethings you don't and vice versa. Also some may give accurate opinions and others not so accurate.