Dumaguete Info Search

Question Local Arts & Crafts

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Andrew, Apr 19, 2015.

1. Andrew

Andrew DI Member Showcase Reviewer

Ratings:
    +151 / 57
    Blood Type:
    A-
    Similar to the guitar makers of Mactan, Cebu - are there any particular crafts specific to Negros? Artwork, designer shell jewellery, drawings, needlework, basket weaving etc?

2. mokum

mokum DI Senior Member

retired
    Ratings:
    +574 / 136
    Look in to the shop next to the travel agent and opposite "pasta King" restaurant. They have some nice art craft made by the owner.

3. Anonymous

Anonymous DI Member

Ratings:
    +108 / 12
    Grateful for your reply. I wish to ingratiate with local crafts people - where exactly would Pasta King be? Please provide a street (for my GPS) so as a newbie I can find these places (Many assume knowledge of these places, but I remain unfamiliar). Thank you Mokum.

4. OP
    OP
    Andrew

Ratings:
    +151 / 57
    Blood Type:
    A-
    I only ask as I have a 'pet project' where I showcase local artistic/craft talent - thus knowing some of these creative minds would be [mutually] advantageous. I have friends in the E.U. operating showcase galleries and in addition to 'local profit' it could provide a great 'platform' for individuals (of talent/repute) to get their skills 'out there' etc etc.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Rye83

Rye83 with pastrami Admin Secured Account Highly Rated Poster SC Connoisseur Veteran Army

FIRE
    Ratings:
    +16,069 / 3,795
    Blood Type:
    O+
    I notice at the Buglasan (sp?) Fiesta there are always many local artists showing their crafts in the city. Perhaps the tourism office might be able to point you in the right direction since they seem to play a large part in the fiesta.

• Informative Informative x 1
  6. Dave & Imp

Dave & Imp DI Forum Patron Highly Rated Poster Showcase Reviewer

Ratings:
    +1,703 / 884