Dumaguete Info Search

Question for US Citizens or Dual Citizens Living in the Phils

Discussion in '☋ Expat Section ☋' started by seabee, Aug 1, 2009.

1. seabee

seabee DI Junior Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Any US Citizen/Dual Citizen living in PI who are self-employed or rely on interest income? How do you handle your US taxes and reporting requirements for Philippine deposits over $10K? Are there tax people there who can help? Any tips?

2. cowboybb

cowboybb DI Junior Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Turbo tax my friend. I have been using turbo tax for about 12 years now and works great no matter what country u are in.....cowboy

3. derivative_guru

derivative_guru DI Senior Member

Ratings:
    +11 / 1
    It depends on your residency status and also lengths of stay outside the US.

If you are not a Philippine resident, and simply collect interest income from PI deposits, the IRS expects you to report and pay tax in the US. However, the US and RP have a tax treaty that allows you to deduct the Philippine withholding tax.

If you are a resident in the Philippines you have other options. And if you are a resident who has been outside the US for at least 18 months continuously and spends less than 3 months per calendar year in the US, you have even better options.

4. garbonzo

garbonzo DI Senior Member Veteran Marines

Retired
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1