Dumaguete Info Search

Address for US Social Security

Discussion in 'Expat Section' started by Dave & Imp, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Dave & Imp

Dave & Imp DI Forum Patron Highly Rated Poster Showcase Reviewer

Ratings:
    +1,703 / 884
    About a year and half ago I went to Cebu to find out something about my US Social Security.
    During my meeting I was asked how long I planned to stay, and I replied indefinitely. It was the SS person’s heavy suggesting that I change my address. I forgot this fellow was not a US Citizen but a Filipino contract worker and thus he had a different perspective on helping people. He used the same perspective that many Filipino politicians take when dealing with their own citizens here.
    We filled out forms and I signed them. THEN he announced that since I was no longer a California resident, I would be charged for some of the Medicare plans that the state of California had been paying for when I was a resident.… Sh…..
    That was only a minor part of the problem. Since I am not residing in the US, every year the US SS sends me a questionnaire from Philadelphia. It is a simple questionnaire to fill out, but of course I never get it with the Philippines Mail system. Then the US SS stops all payments. I have to contact SS in Manila to get them to send me a form, scan it and email it back. This has happened twice. Currently, the second time they are not responding to my emails, so I sit without new funds being transferred into my account because I was honest about my living situation here.

This thread is to warn people to refuse to change their address to the Philippines from the US.

• Informative Informative x 1
  2. Ten Twenty Lenny

Ten Twenty Lenny DI Member

Ratings:
    +109 / 3