Dumaguete Info Search

Is there a US VA or American Legion type Rep in the RP?

Discussion in 'Military and Veterans' started by ChMacQueen, Feb 6, 2019.

1. ChMacQueen

ChMacQueen DI Forum Patron Highly Rated Poster Showcase Reviewer Veteran Army

Ratings:
    +1,386 / 173
    I'm a US Vet and have a bit of a problem with my VA claim that has arisen. I can't really get any real help calling the VA 1000 number hotline especially considering on an internet phone often disconnects. I had been using a VA / American Legion office I was told to use my my old AL office in Minneapolis since I've been in the Philippines. However calling them I was told I should talk to the rep's here in the Philippines (don't think there actually is any who assist with handling claims (noted I'm a disabled veteran but have a dispute on an issue that came up). I tried telling them I was pretty sure no rep here to handle stuff like that which is why I had been directed to their office which a few years ago I was told handled overseas vets which they seem to disagree with but now they are getting quite difficult to talk to trying to brush me off as I'm not in one of their US counties.

So basically unsure where I can find assistance with my VA issue so asking of anyone here with claim issues has any experience who here in the Philippines or who in the US handles those of us abroad for assistance? Thanks

2. redhorse

redhorse DI Forum Adept

Ratings:
    +269 / 62
    I can't directly answer your question, but I just wanted to mention something that helped me in the past when dealing with the VA in Manila.
    MANY years ago I wanted to use my GI Bill benefits at a school in the Philippines. I had verified that the school was approved by the VA before I came to the Philippines - or so I thought!
    What I didn't realize was that individual programs have to be approved, and although some programs at the school were approved, mine was not yet. My fault for not doing due diligence!