Dumaguete Info Search

Suggestion LAND REFORM

Discussion in 'Dumaguete City' started by Notmyrealname, Apr 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Notmyrealname

Notmyrealname DI Forum Luminary Highly Rated Poster Showcase Reviewer

Ratings:
    +5,588 / 2,888
    I am new to The Philippines and a guest, so I have no rights to demand anything other than my human rights (lol).

So it is merely a suggestion that so many problems could be solved, to the betterment of the people, if there was a fundamental reform of land rights. I see potential lots full of rubbish, part completed houses and such complex family issues over ownership of property that even Stephen Hawking would be perplexed to sort them out.

Does this benefit anyone other than legal firms?

There will be experts on the forum who know better than me on this issue, but I would start by forcing the sale of land that is not in full use. I know there is a danger that it could force the sale of all land but this can be overcome by local authorities selecting zones based on how well maintained the property is (that may be one factor to determine 'full use') and its suitability for development. The price would need to be set based on location and other value-factors and the various owners would have to receive their correct share of the proceeds. In the event of disagreements an attorney would apportion the percentage of each person who has a legitimate claim. This would have to be done within a set time frame to avoid disgruntled part-owners dragging it out ad infinitum.

Once the excess amount of unused land is 'corrected' there could be a return to sensible market forces and measures to avoid the splitting of property between so many owners (reform of inheritance would also be needed).

For a country with a growing population it does not make sense (and is not very aesthetic) for huge areas of unsightly and unused land to be ignored for lack of will.

2. Rye83