Dumaguete Info Search

Random thoughts on my Dumaguete visit...

Discussion in 'Tourist Information' started by devildog4, Sep 23, 2012.

1. devildog4

devildog4 DI Member Veteran Marines

Retired
    Ratings:
    +5 / 3
    I've been coming here since 1995 or 1996. First to meet my penpal, then again to propose to her, then once more for her Fiance Visa interview, then back to visit her family. Maybe 6 or 7 visits so far. Been married 13 wonderful years.

I haven't been here for 6 years, but it seems very different.

Way too many pedicabs. More than needed.
    Traffic jams anytime of day.
    I forgot all about the litter on the ground, vehicle pollution and smoke from fires. Gets pretty bad sometimes.
    I also forgot about the heat and humidity. Never rained this much in Sept before. Couldn't live without A/C.
    Bethel was the best place in town to stay. They have competition now.
    Music Box changed to Why Not, but pretty much the same clientel.
    I still get stares depending on where I am in town. Especially when riding with 3 people on the rented scooter.
    If you smile and engage people, more likely than not they will smile and talk to you. Otherwise everybody is shy.
    Never felt uncomfortable or in a bad situation. This is not Manila.
    I like Valencia. If it was safe from landslides and flooding, when I retire I might stay there.
    I am in my mid 50's. All the other Americans and others with a young cute Filipina look much older than me.

Dumaguete is a nice place. Lotsa things to do if you want. Maybe a good place to retire.

2. PatO

PatO DI Forum Luminary Highly Rated Poster Showcase Reviewer Veteran Marines

Ratings:
    +4,539 / 1,016
    Interesting observations, no surprises. Glad you still see Dgte and a place to consider retiring at. Btw, did you notice the smiles on the old guys with the cute filipinas? I would say that is now pretty much the norm here. Why not?

3. OP
    OP
    devildog4

Retired
    Ratings:
    +5 / 3